St Thomas More R.C. Primary School Governing Body

The efficient and effective running of the school is the responsibility of the St Thomas More Governing Body. The Governing Body are the strategic leaders of the school and ensure clarity and vision, ethos and strategic direction. They hold the Head teacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, monitor the performance management of staff and oversee the financial performance of the school. The Governing Body is composed of 16 members.  All Governors hold office for four years after which they may seek re-election or re-appointment.

The Governing Body is composed of:

a) Foundation Governors appointed by the Trustees of Salford Diocese.
b) Individuals nominated by Rochdale Metropolitan Borough Council.
c) Parents of children attending the school.
d) Representatives of both teaching and non-teaching staff at the school.
e) The Head teacher who is an ex officio member.​

Governing Body

Mrs Butterworth Headteacher
Rev.   P Hopkinson ​​​Foundation Governor ex officio
Mr David Flint Parent Governor December 2026
Mr Peter Gittins Foundation Governor September 2026
 Mr Chris Hardcastle Parent Governor July 2026
Mrs Kathy Kennedy (R) Local Authority Governor to June 2026
Mr J Cannavan (R) Foundation Governor to November 2025
Mrs F Cripps (R) Foundation Governor to February 2025
Mrs L Williams (I) Foundation Governor to February 2025
Miss C Barran (I) Staff Governor January 2025
Mr Denis Breen Foundation Governor November 2023
Mrs K Sanders (LEFT) Foundation Governor to July 2022
Mr M Gifford (LEFT) Foundation Governor to April 2022
Miss P Locke (LEFT) Foundation Governor to December 2021
Mr M Crutchley (LEFT) Parent Governor to December 2021
Mrs Zara Betney (LEFT) Co-opted Governor​ to June 2020
Mrs J Young (LEFT) Staff Governor to March 2020
Alderman T Fitzsimons (LEFT) Foundation Governor to July 2019
Mrs H Murden (LEFT) Foundation Governor to July 2019
Mr Barry Day (LEFT) Associate Governor to July 2018
Mrs Laura Pracy (LEFT) Authority Governor to April 2018

(R) = Resources Committee
(I) = Impact Committee

Chair of Governors - Mrs L Williams 

Vice Chair -                Mr D Flint

Each member of the Governing body is also a member of either the Resources Committee or Curriculum Committee as indicated above. The Resources committee is responsible for Finance, Premises and Personnel issues. The Curriculum Committee is responsible for the Curriculum, SEN, Safeguarding, Data and Performance.  Associate Governors do not have voting rights.

Chair of Resources Committee – Mrs Fiona Cripps

Chair of Impact Committee – Mrs L Williams

Governors Meetings

Full Governors meetings take place at least once each term. One member of the school staff are elected to the Governing Body. Committee meetings are held throughout the term. Subject managers will be asked to prepare a document for the Governors or attend a meeting to present developments relevant to their area of curriculum responsibility. See below the attendance at the Full governors meetings 2017/2022

Governors Attendance at Meetings

How to contact us

The School Governors can be contacted through Mrs Louise Williams or Mrs Kathy Kennedy (Chair of Governors) via the school office

Governors Documents